Architecture Matters 2016

With: Peter Haimerl – peter haimerl . architektur, Stefan F. Höglmaier – Euroboden Gruppe, Matthias Lilienthal – Artistic director of the Munich Kammerspiele, Harry Parr – Bompas & Parr, Ole Scheeren – Firm OS Group, David van Severen – Office Kersten Geers David van Severen, Oleg Shapiro – Wowhaus

Speaker

Peter Haimerl

peter haimerl . architektur, Munich

Peter Haimerl was raised in a Lower Bavarian village in the Bavarian Forest. This experience imparted him with a certain sense of tenacity, directness and autonomy, which have helped to make him one of the most interesting architects leading the German architecture scene today. He is often drawn back to his home region, most recently in 2014 with the construc-tion of the imposing concert hall in Blaibach. Haimerl has received numerous awards, inclu-ding the German Architecture Award and the Bavarian Cultural Award.

www.peterhaimerl.com

Stefan F. Höglmaier

Euroboden Gruppe, Munich

Stefan F. Höglmaier is managing director of Euroboden Gruppe, which the 42-year-old founded at the age of 24. He is one of the few developers who earn money with good architecture and not only with gross floor area. When Höglmaier is convinced of an idea, he fights to make it happen, longer than most others would, and even by legal means. He works with some of the best in the industry, including David Adjaye, David Chipperfield, Peter Haimerl and Muck Petzet. Of course, his own home is equally spectacular, being a converted bunker with its own art space on the ground floor.

www.euroboden.de

© Julian Baumann (portrait photo)

Matthias Lilienthal

Artistic director of the Munich Kammerspiele

Matthias Lilienthal has served as the artistic director of the Munich Kammerspiele since the 2015/16 season. Long before “Shabby Shabby Apartments” – his answer to the gentrification in Munich’s city centre – he had a solid reputation as an intrepid border crosser. He concluded his recent tenure at Hebbel am Ufer (HAU) in Berlin with “Infinite Jest”,
a 24-hour marathon through iconic West Berlin locations. His arrival is a guaranteed breath of fresh air for Munich’s theatrical community.

www.muenchner-kammerspiele.de

Harry Parr

Bompas & Parr, London

Sam Bompas and Harry Parr are experts in culinary events, architectural installations and the titillation of our taste buds. They have drawn widespread acclaim for their extraordinary architectural replicas made from jelly – from Foster’s Millennium Bridge to Barajas Airport. They cook with lava and lightning, create walk-in cloud cocktails, work with companies such as Selfridges, Louis Vuitton and Mercedes-Benz, and stage spectacular spaces in institutions such as the Serpentine Gallery, Victoria & Albert Museum, Salone del Mobile and the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art.

www.bompasandparr.com

Ole Scheeren

Firm OS Group in Beijing, Hongkong, Bangkok and Berlin

Radical Chinese: Ole Scheeren started working in architecture at age 14, realised his first building at age 21, travelled through China, and at age 31, became a partner at OMA, responsible for business in Asia, planning with CCTV the second-largest office building in the world. In 2010, he founded his own architecture firm with offices in Beijing, Hong Kong and Bangkok. A branch in Berlin was added in the fall of 2015.

www.buro-os.com

David van Severen

Office Kersten Geers David van Severen, Brussels

Half modern, half something else – Office Kersten Geers David Van Severen is one of the most fascinating young architecture firms today. Their approach is idiosyncratic, uncompromising and reduced to the essential. Kersten Geers (*1975) and David van Severen (*1978) established their firm in 2002. They first garnered international attention in 2008 as the curators of the Belgian pavilion at the Architecture Biennale in Venice, with “After the Party” and its confetti-covered floor. At the 2010 Biennale, they were awarded the Silver Lion. They have taught at the Berlage Institute, at Columbia and Yale University, and are the curators for this year’s Biennale Interieur in Kortrijk, Belgium.

www.officekgdvs.com

© Tine Cooreman (portrait photo)

Oleg Shapiro

Wowhaus, Moscow

Wowhaus was never interested in buildings as eccentric objects. Their focus from the start has been on cultural buildings and public space – subjects that long received little attention in Moscow. Dmitry Likin (*1966) and Oleg Shapiro (*1962), both trained architects, estab-lished their firm in 2007. Unwilling to design bombastic palaces for the nouveau riche in the wild 1990s, Likin worked as head designer at the television station Channel One Russia, while Shapiro sold helicopters. Their building period began during the wave of change after the dismissal of long-time Moscow mayor Yuri Luzhkov. Likin and Shapiro came to prominence with their design of the Strelka Institute and their redesign of Gorky Park. Today they are one of the most important architectural firms in Russia.

www.en.wowhaus.ru

19.2.2016 Conference

Reaktorhalle München
Luisenstraße 37a
80333 Munich

14:15
Dr. Andrea Niedzela-Schmutte, bavarian ministry of economic affairs
welcome
14:20
Nadin Heinich
welcome
14:30
David van Severen
lecture,
question & answer
15:30
Harry Parr
performance #1
16:30
Peter Haimerl, Stefan F. Högelmaier, Matthias Lilienthal
panel discussion: Munich Session
18:00
Ole van Severen
lecture,
question & answer
19:00
Harry Parr
performance #2
19:30
Oleg Shapiro
lecture,
question & answer
20:30
Dinner & Table Talks

18.2.2016 Dinner-Preformance

MOVE YOUR BUSINESS FORWARD!

How flexible is living today? How do we want to live tomorrow? What do young architects envision? How can these ideas bring added (financial) value? How crazy can idea be, and still be implemented? An inspiring dinner for young architects and decision makers from the real estate industry. Held on the rooftop garden of Bayerischer Hof.

Bayerischer Hof
Promenadeplatz 2-6
80333 Munich

Architecture Matters 2016

Mit: Peter Haimerl – peter haimerl . architektur, Stefan F. Höglmaier – Euroboden Gruppe, Matthias Lilienthal – Intendant der Münchner Kammerspiele, Harry Parr – Bompas & Parr, Ole Scheeren – Büro OS Group, David van Severen – Office Kersten Geers David van Severen, Oleg Shapiro – Wowhaus

Sprecher

Peter Haimerl

peter haimerl . architektur, München

Peter Haimerl ist in einem niederbayerischen Dorf im Bayerischen Wald aufgewachsen. Eine gewisse Sturheit, Geradlinigkeit und Unabhängigkeit hat er sich bewahrt und ist heute einer der interessantesten Köpfe der deutschen Architektenszene. Immer wieder zieht es ihn zurück in seine Heimat, zuletzt 2014 mit dem Bau des grandiosen Konzerthauses in Blaibach. Haimerl wurde vielfach ausgezeichnet, unter anderem mit dem Deutschen Architekturpreis und dem Bayerischen Kulturpreis.

www.peterhaimerl.com

Stefan F. Höglmaier

Euroboden Gruppe, München

Stefan F. Höglmaier ist Geschäftsführer der Euroboden Gruppe, die der 42-Jährige im Alter von 24 Jahren gründete. Er ist einer der wenigen Bauträger, die mit guter Architektur und nicht allein mit Bruttogeschossfläche Geld verdienen. Wenn Höglmaier von einer Idee überzeugt ist, kämpft er, auch auf juristischem Weg, länger als die meisten anderen für ihre Umsetzung. Dafür arbeitet er mit einigen der Besten der Branche zusammen, David Adjaye, David Chipperfield, Peter Haimerl oder Muck Petzet. Natürlich wohnt er auch privat spektakulär, in einem umgebauten Hochbunker mit eigenem Kunstraum im Erdgeschoss.

www.euroboden.de

© Julian Baumann (Poträtfoto)

Matthias Lilienthal

Intendant der Münchner Kammerspiele

Seit 2015 ist Matthias Lilienthal Intendant der Münchner Kammerspiele. Und gilt nicht erst seit „Shabby Shabby Apartments“ – seinem Einstand im gentrifizierten Münchner Herz und Stadtzentrum – als unerschrockener Szenen-Durchmischer. Von seiner vormaligen Spielstätte, dem Hebbel am Ufer in Berlin (HAU), verabschiedet er sich mit „Unendlicher Spaß“, einem 24-Stunden-Marathon durch die utopischen Orte Westberlins. Gegenwind für die Münchner Spaßgemeinschaft scheint garantiert.

www.muenchner-kammerspiele.de

Harry Parr

Bompas & Parr, London

Sam Bompas und Harry Parr sind Experten für kulinarische Inszenierungen, architektonische Installationen und das Ausreizen unserer Geschmacksnerven. Bekannt wurden sie dank ihrer außerordentlichen Fertigkeiten bei der Herstellung von Wackelpudding, aus dem sie eine Vielzahl von Gebäuden – von Forsters Millenium Bridge bis zu Flughäfen – nachbauten. Sie kochen mit Lava oder Blitzen, kreieren begehbare Wolken-Cocktails, arbeiten mit Unternehmen wie Selfridges, Louis Vuitton oder Mercedes-Benz zusammen und inszenieren Räume in Institutionen wie der Serpentine Gallery, dem Victoria & Albert Museum, dem Salone del Mobile oder dem San Francisco Museum of Modern Art.

www.bompasandparr.com

Ole Scheeren

Büro OS Group in Peking, Hongkong, Bangkok, Berlin

Radical Chinese: Mit 14 Jahren fing Ole Scheeren zu entwerfen an, mit 21 baute er das erste eigene Haus und tourte durch China, mit 31 wurde er Partner bei OMA, verantwortlich für das Asiengeschäft und plante mit CCTV das zweitgrößte Bürogebäude der Welt. 2010 gründete der heute 44-Jährige sein eigenes Architekturbüro mit Niederlassungen in Peking, Hongkong und Bangkok. Im Herbst 2015 kam eine Dependance in Berlin hinzu.

www.buro-os.com

David van Severen

Office Kersten Geers David van Severen, Brüssel

Half modern, half something else – Office Kersten Geers David Van Severen ist eines der interessantesten jungen Architekturbüros. Eigenwillig, kompromisslos, auf das Wesentliche reduziert. Kersten Geers (*1975) und David Van Severen (*1978) gründeten ihr Büro 2002. Mit „After the Party“ und Konfetti auf dem Fußboden machten sie 2008 als Kuratoren des belgischen Pavillons auf der Architekturbiennale in Venedig erstmals international auf sich aufmerksam. 2010 wurden sie ebenda mit dem Silbernen Löwen ausgezeichnet. Sie unterrich(te)ten unter anderem am Berlage Institut, der Columbia Universität sowie an der Yale und sind die Kuratoren der diesjährigen Ausgabe der Biennale Interieur in Kortrijk, Belgien.

www.officekgdvs.com

© Tine Cooreman (Porträtfoto)

Oleg Shapiro

Wowhaus, Moskau

Gebäude als exzentrische Objekte haben Wowhaus nie interessiert. Ihr Fokus lag von Anfang an auf Kulturbauten und dem öffentlichen Raum – ein in Moskau lange Zeit kaum beachtetes Thema. Dmitry Likin (*1966) und Oleg Shapiro (*1962), beide ausgebildete Architekten, gründeten ihr Büro 2007. In den wilden 1990ern hatten sie keine Lust, protzige Paläste für Neureiche zu entwerfen. Likin wurde Chefdesigner des Fernsehsenders Channel One, Shapiro verkauft Helikopter. Ihre Bau-Zeit begann mit dem Aufbruch nach der Abdankung des langjährigen Moskauer Bürgermeisters Luschkow. Populär wurden Likin und Shapiro mit dem Entwurf für das Strelka Institut und der Neugestaltung des Gorki Parks. Heute zählen sie zu den wichtigsten Architekturbüros in Russland.

www.en.wowhaus.ru

19.2.2016 Konferenz

Reaktorhalle München
Luisenstraße 37a
80333 München

14.15 Uhr
Dr. Andrea Niedzela-Schmutte,
Bayerisches Staats­ministerium für Wirtschaft und Medien, Energie und Technologie
Begrüßung
14.20 Uhr
Nadin Heinich
Begrüßung
14.30 Uhr
David van Severen
Vortrag,
Question & Answer
15.30 Uhr
Harry Parr
Performance #1
16.30 Uhr
Peter Haimerl, Stefan F. Högelmaier, Matthias Lilienthal
Podiumsrunde: Munich Session
18.00 Uhr
Ole van Severen
Vortrag,
Question & Answer
19.00 Uhr
Harry Parr
Performance #2
19.30 Uhr
Oleg Shapiro
Vortrag,
Question & Answer
20.30 Uhr
Dinner & Table Talks im Foyer der Reaktorhalle

18.2.2016 Dinner-Preformance

MOVE YOUR BUSINESS FORWARD!

Wie flexibel ist Wohnen heute? Wie wollen wir morgen wohnen? Welche Ideen haben junge Architekten? Welcher (finanzielle) Mehrwert lässt sich damit generieren? Wie abgedreht kann eine Idee sein, um sie dennoch umzusetzen? Ein geladenes Dinner für junge Architekten und Entscheider aus der Immobilienwirtschaft im Dachgarten des Bayerischen Hofes.

Bayerischer Hof
Promenadeplatz 2-6
80333 München